Imagen del editor
Cloud Atlas [US First Edition]: David Mitchell

Cloud Atlas [US First Edition]

David Mitchell

Editorial: Random House, New York, 2004
ISBN 10: 0375507256 / ISBN 13: 9780375507250
Usado / Soft cover / Cantidad: 1
Librería: Chancery Hill Books (Morgantown, WV, Estados Unidos de America)
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro
Añadir al carrito
Precio: EUR 36,70
Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 2,67
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Guardar para más tarde

Sobre el libro

Detalles bibliográficos


Título: Cloud Atlas [US First Edition]

Editorial: Random House, New York

Año de publicación: 2004

Encuadernación: Soft cover

Condición del libro: Very Good

Edición: 1st Edition

Descripción:

Trade paperback with French Flaps. First U. S/ Edition stated with complete number line including 1 to indicate first printing.Has been read: there is a bit of curvature on the spine (but not yet a crease) and a page or two (including the first one) has the impression of a finger, leading to the slightest waviness. Top outer French Flap corners bumped. Overall, about VG. Mitchell's third book, and difficult to find. N° de ref. de la librería 000835

Sobre este título:

Valoración del libro brindada por GoodReads:
4,01 valoración promedio
(142.791 valoraciones)

Sinopsis: By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn?t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

Praise for Cloud Atlas
 
?[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel?s every page.? ?The New York Times Book Review
 
?One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is?and should be?read by any student of contemporary literature.? ?Dave Eggers
 
?Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.? ?People
 
?The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet?not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I?ve never read anything quite like it, and I?m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.? ?Michael Chabon
 
? Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.? ?The Washington Post Book World
 
?Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in  Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.? ?Boston Sunday Globe
 
?Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.? ?Los Angeles Times

From the Hardcover edition.

Sinopsis: Now a major motion picture starring Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Susan Sarandon, and Hugh Grant, and directed by Lana and Andy Wachowski and Tom Tykwer
 

A postmodern visionary who is also a master of styles of genres, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian lore of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction that reveals how disparate people connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.
 
?[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel?s every page.??The New York Times Book Review

?One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is?and should be?read by any student of contemporary literature.??Dave Eggers

 
?Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.??People
 
?The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet?not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I?ve never read anything quite like it, and I?m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.??Michael Chabon

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Librería y condiciones de venta

Opciones de pago

Esta librería acepta las siguientes opciones de pago:

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Buscar en el catálogo de esta librería]

[Todos los libros de esta librería]

[Hacer una pregunta a la librería]

Librería: Chancery Hill Books
Dirección: Morgantown, WV, Estados Unidos de America

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 11 de enero de 2013
Valoración librería: Valoración 5 estrellas

Condiciones de venta:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days. Chancery Hill Books and Antiques is registered to conduct ...

[Más información]

Condiciones de envío:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Descripción de la librería: Chancery Hill Books is an internet-only site located in Morgantown, West Virginia. I specialize in First Edition fiction, collectible paperbacks, graphic novels, and also some academic books.